Moisturize From The Inside Out!

shutterstock_119947453

Drinking water is an easy, inexpensive way to keep you skin healthy and hydrated. Topical moisturizers are important but they do not provide enough hydration to keep your skin moist and supple. Skin is an organ and just like any other part of the body, your skin is made up of cells. The cells of the human body are mostly water.  A newborn baby’s cells may be as much as 75% water!  With age, the amount of water in the human body decreases but water is still the primary content in the cells of the human body.  Without water, our organs and that includes skin, will not function at their best.

When skin is not adequately hydrated it loses thickness, can become more sensitive and offers less body protection. Dry skin feels tight and your skin tone may look flaky and dull. The drier your skin, the less resilient and more prone to wrinkling it becomes.  Chronic dehydration can age your skin very quickly and can cause fine lines and wrinkles to appear deeper.  Proper hydration is an important part of keeping skin looking firm and supple. Drinking plenty of water helps to reduce the signs of aging and keeps skin soft and elastic.

shutterstock_63488518

Water also helps the body to utilize essential nutrients, eliminate toxins and maintain a healthy pH balance. Anything that makes you sweat a lot, such as exercise or being out in the sun, causes you to lose fluids. Dehydration can also occur when you have been sick.  All these may mean you need to increase the amount of water you are drinking.  Coffee and alcohol do not count as fluids since they act as diuretics and reduce hydration.   Water aids the natural repair process, helping the body to heal faster when damaged. In the case of severe sunburn, be sure to drink a lot of water!

So how much water is enough to keep our bodies and skin looking and feeling their best?  It may be more than you might think.  Women should drink at least nine cups of plain water every day and men should drink 13! This is important because no matter how much water you are drinking, the water will reach your other organs first before it reaches your skin.

shutterstock_120691084

To have beautiful, healthy skin, try moisturizing from the inside out!  We all know that beauty is more than skin deep.  It’s what’s on the inside that counts and in this case, that means a lot of water and a well hydrated body.  It’s easy, inexpensive and you can start today!  Let’s drink (a glass of water) to your health!

About Barbara Goldstein

I am the Director of Corporate Communications for Scott's Liquid Gold and Neoteric Cosmetics. I am the third generation to work in this family business founded and based in Denver, CO. We will celebrate our 6oth anniversary in 2011.
Aside | This entry was posted in Anti-aging, Beauty, moisturizers, Natural, ph balanced, Skin care, Smart buys, Uncategorized, Value and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Moisturize From The Inside Out!

  1. I absolutely Love the Alpha Hydrox skincare line. Ive been a user of the alpha hydrox facial cleanser, daily moisture lotion, and the moisturizer cream for over 5 years now and my skin remains clear, supple, and vibrant! Acne was never an issue in my teens but now in my thirties I was experiencing more blemishes and unbalanced skin. Never would have I guessed having these issues now. From the first day or two using the wash and moisturizer my face looked great! These are all I use now and I believe my youthfulness is being kept using the Alpha Hydrox products! Thank You so much!
    Sincerely;
    Tracie Miller

    problems at my age, think you are passed that. I tried the Alpga

  2. Every աeekend і used to vsit this web page, as
    i want enjoyment, since this thiss web site conations actually ոicе funny data too.

  3. Generally I do not read article on blogs, but I would like
    to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and
    do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very
    great article.

  4. Pretty component of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say
    that I acquire in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment or even I success you access
    persistently fast.

  5. I always spent my half an hour to read this website’s content all the
    time along with a mug of coffee.

  6. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.

    I’m quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  7. I know this website presents quality dependent articles or reviews
    and additional information, is there any other web page which offers these things in quality?

  8. Dalton says:

    It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you just shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep uus up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  9. pyxsd.org says:

    Fine way of telling, and pleasant post to take
    information concerning my presentation subject, which i am going to convey in academy.

  10. It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this piece
    of writing as well as from our dialogue made at this time.

  11. ambien says:

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.

    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me
    to get my own website now 😉

Leave a Reply

