Skin vs. Solar

As an employee of a skin care manufacturer based in Colorado, I know the sun is both a blessing and a curse. The sun can help  supplement electric power, heat and other alternative forms of energy. There are 300 days of sunshine in Colorado each year. It makes solar a truly viable energy alternative. Like millions of Americans, I am trying to harness the power of the sun by adding solar panels on my home. The sun can also be extremely harmful to your health and well-being. Unprotected sun exposure causes wrinkles, premature aging and significantly increases the risk of skin cancer. Colorado is known for its outdoor lifestyle.  As Coloradans and visitors, we love to camp, fish, hike, ski, cycle, swim, raft and a enjoy an astonishing array of outdoor activities. All these activities mean sun exposure and the possibility of sun damage. No matter where you live, using sunscreen should be a daily habit like brushing your teeth.  Let’s use the sun to promote energy solutions, not wrinkles and aging.

About Barbara Goldstein

I am the Director of Corporate Communications for Scott's Liquid Gold and Neoteric Cosmetics. I am the third generation to work in this family business founded and based in Denver, CO. We will celebrate our 6oth anniversary in 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Skin vs. Solar

  1. michele collins says:

    I agree with Barbara Goldstein regarding the use of sunscreen. As a matter of fact, I have been looking for your White Daily Sunscreen. It comes in a 4 oz tube. Why is it not among the products offered online? I particularly like it because it does not contain Parabens. I like the Alpha Hydrox line, but I only use the products that are free of parabens. Please let me know where I can find this suncreen, I would really appreciate it.
    Thank-you,
    Michele Collins.

    • We are currently reformulating our sunscreens so the White Line SPF is not avaialble at this time. I also used it and loved it and will push for it to be part of our line again as soon as possible. We have a new SPF 30 that is currently in the testing phase. I appreciate your concern about parabens. We are actively reformulating our other products to eliminate parabens altogether. Thanks for keeping us on our toes!

  2. Yvonne says:

    I am 55 years old and have been using your product since I was 34 years old. I still have no wrinkles and people always think I’m 10 years younger.

    I could probably use a mini-face lift due to some normal sagging of the skin at my age, but my skin is flawless due to your products. My pores look smaller, and I have no age spots.

    As long as your products continue to remain perfume free, and stay reasonably priced, you will have a customer for life! I know of no other product like this that contains the purest form and highest concentration of hydroxy acids and retinol.

    I swear by your products and promote them to my friends at every turn.

    I am a loyal customer for life!

    • Thanks so much for using Alpha Hydrox. We have been making and selling Alpha Hydrox for 19 years because of loyal consumers like you. Alpha Hydrox will remain perfume free and value priced because we believe in making affordable skin care that really works!

  3. R. Valentino says:

    I have been using these products for years and although the price has increased I think it was wrong to also change the amounts we get at the same time as the price increase. The essential renewal lotion 10% went from 6 ounces to 4 ounces along with the price increase. This makes this family business appear a bit shady and now I do not trust this company as much as I did in the past. Maybe even the ingredients are not as good as they once were. I appears as a 50% increase on most products.

  4. R. Valentino says:

    I feel it is wrong to both increase the prices and reduce the size of our purchases at the same time. Example…Essential Renewal Lotion is now $16.99 and the amount is reduced from 6 ounces to 4 ounces. This makes for bad customer relations especially for people like me who have been using your products for years.

    • Good day! Thanks for your comments and feedback. Thank you for using Alpha Skin Care (formerly Alpha Hydrox). We understand your concerns about the price increase. We know it may not seem like it but, we really are trying to keep our prices reasonable. Until February of this year, we had not had a price increase in about 10 years. In that 10 year period, we made many improvements to our formulations and expanded our range of active ingredients. We had to increase prices to keep up with our costs. The Essential Renewal Cream (formerly 10% Enhanced Lotion) is the only product that decreased in size. All the others remained the same or increased in size. We will continue to offer specials and discounts throughout the year and hope you will consider buying during those times to help offset the pricing changes. As a small American manufacturer, every customer is important to us. Buying Alpha Skin Care means you help to support 65 employees and their families and we want you to know we do not take that for granted. We want to hear from our consumers. Not just the good stuff but the negative stuff, too. It will help us to be a better company. Thanks again for your comments. (Please consider this a reply to both of your comments.)

      • Yvonne says:

        I love your products and have been using them for 20 years. I am now 60 and have zero wrinkles. Considering how much other products cost, and the purity of your ingredients, you can’t argue the value for the money.

      • Hi Yvonne. Thank you for the feedback. Your loyalty means a lot to each of our 65+ employees and their families. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

